css image gallery by WOWSlider.com v8.2

Maid of Sker Conservation Management Plan and Archival Recording

The Maid of Sker is a restored paddle steamer built in 1884. It was used in the Nerang region of southern Queensland to service the Philpott timber and sugar mills until 1893. It was then used by the Kleinschmidt family for more general transport until it was retired in 1974. It was moved to its current location in Bischof Pioneer Park Nerang in 1976. As the only known surviving trading vessel from this region it is a unique interpretive example associated with the Nerang township and the wider Gold Coast area. Cosmos Archaeology was contracted by the City of Gold Coast to complete a Conservation Management Plan for the Maid of Sker to provide guidelines for its heritage management and an action plan for repairs and ongoing maintenance. Cosmos Archaeology later undertook an interior and exterior archival recording of the vessel's hull as well as recording the ship lines of the vessel in its current state.

.